Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)


The Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190) is a permanent visa that allows nominated applicants to live and work in Australia.

The visa applicant must be skilled in an occupation listed on the Skilled Occupation List.

As of 2024, there are over 400 occupations on the list, including:

  • Registered Nurse – (including Enrolled Nurse 411411, Nurse Practitioner 254411, and Registered Nurse (Aged Care) 254412);
  • Electrician – (including Automotive Electrician 321111, Electrician (General) 341111, and Electrician (Special Class) 341112);
  • Plumber – (including Plumber (General) 334111, Roof Plumber 334115, and Airconditioning and Mechanical Services Plumber 334112); and
  • Engineer – (including Civil Engineer 233211, Software Engineer 261313, and Electrical Engineer 233311).


Benefits & Privileges for Subclass 190 Visa Holders


Subclass 190 visa holders may sponsor family members to join them in Australia.

They can also take advantage of Medicare, Australia’s public health care system, and apply for Australian citizenship once eligible.

Visa holders can travel to and from Australia as many times as they like for 5 years. They will need to apply for a Resident Return Visa (RRV) to continue travelling afterwards.


Process & Nomination Criteria


Subclass 190 visa applicants must be nominated by a state or territory government agency. They must submit an expression of interest (EOI) to receive an invitation to apply.

State and territory government agencies have their own criteria for deciding who they will nominate.

For example, in South Australia, Registered Nurses (nec) must currently be working in their nominated (or closely related occupation) for the last 18 months in Greater Adelaide OR the last 12 months in outer regional South Australia.

The work requirement set per State is subject to change at the discretion of the Department of Home Affairs.

We have obtained countless visa invitations and state sponsorships, and can assist applicants with submitting a strong EOI.


Application Options & Eligibility


Subclass 190 visa applicants may apply onshore or offshore (offshore applications for various occupations may be limited).

If applying onshore, they must hold a substantive visa or one of the following:

  • Subclass 010 Bridging A visa;
  • Subclass 020 Bridging B visa; or
  • Subclass 030 Bridging C visa.


Subclass 190 Visa Requirements


Subclass 190 applicants must score 65 points or more on the points test.

They must have competent English language skills and have obtained a suitable skill assessment in the last 3 years.

Subclass 190 applicants must also satisfy the following requirements:


Age Limit for Subclass 190


Generally, applicants must be under 45 years of age to apply for the Subclass 190.

Applicants who turn 45 after receiving an invitation to apply may still apply.

However, Subclass 190 applicants who turn 45 after submitting an EOI (and have not yet received an invitation to apply) will not be eligible.


Contact Us


For more information about the Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190), contact Bambrick Legal today. We can confirm your eligibility and help you apply for your visa.

Read more about our Visa and Migration services here.

Related Blog – South Australia’s Skilled Occupation List 2023/24

Send us a message

For enquiries, please fill in the following contact form