Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491)


The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491) allows skilled workers to live and work in regional Australia for up to 5 years.

The eligible skilled occupations must be listed on the Skilled Occupation List, including Nurses, School Teachers, and Software and Applications Programmers.

The designated regional areas are outlined here.

Subclass 491 visa holders may stay in Australia for up to 5 years and can apply for permanent residency through the Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (subclass 191), if eligible.

They may include eligible family members in their application, such as a dependent or a subsequent entrant.

There are no travel restrictions associated with the Subclass 491.


Subclass 491 Nomination


Subclass 491 visa applicants must submit an expression of interest (EOI) to gain sponsorship and an invitation to apply.

Visa applicants must be nominated by a state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible relative.

An eligible relative must be:

  • 18 years or older,
  • Residing in regional Australia, and
  • An Australian citizen, permanent resident, or an eligible New Zealand citizen.

Eligible relatives include parents, children, siblings, and grandparents (among others).

If applying for State Nomination, Subclass 491 applicants must meet the eligibility criteria for their chosen occupation at the time of application/when submitting an EOI.

We have obtained countless visa invitations and state sponsorships, and can assist applicants with submitting a strong EOI.


Requirements for the Subclass 491 Visa


Subclass 491 applicants must score 65 points or more on the points test.

They must have functional English language skills and have obtained a suitable skill assessment in the last 3 years.

Subclass 491 applicants must also satisfy the following requirements:


Age Limit for Subclass 491 Visa


Applicants must be under 45 years of age to apply for a Subclass 491.

Applicants who turn 45 after receiving an invitation to apply may still apply.

However, applicants who turn 45 after submitting an EOI (and have not yet received an invitation to apply) will not be eligible for the Subclass 491.

There is no age limit for subsequent entrants (family members).


Subsequent Entrants


Family members of Subclass 491 holders may apply as a subsequent entrant, if eligible.

Generally, applicants must have at least functional English language skills (concessions may apply if the applicant has paid the second instalment of the visa application charge).

If the applicant is onshore and applying as a subsequent entrant, they must hold a substantive visa or one of the following:

  1. Subclass 010 Bridging A visa,
  2. Subclass 020 Bridging B visa, or
  3. Subclass 030 Bridging C visa.

If eligible, Subsequent entrants may apply for permanent residency through the Subclass 191.

There is no age limit for subsequent entrants.


Contact Us


For more information about the Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa, contact Bambrick Legal today. We can confirm your eligibility and help you apply for your visa.

Read more about our Visa and Migration services here.

Related Blog – South Australia’s Skilled Occupation List 2023/24

Send us a message

For enquiries, please fill in the following contact form